Eight Wexford schools hchosen to participate in the pilot Creative Schools scheme.

Eight Wexford schools have been chosen to participate in the pilot Creative Schools scheme from this September.

This scheme, under the control of my ministerial colleague Josepha Madigan, will give school goers increased access to creative activities.

The schools are:

Scoil Naomh Maodhóg, Scoil Mhuire and Kiltealy National school in Enniscorthy, Ballycullane NS and Bunscoil Rís Edmund Rice Senior Primary In New Ross, Bunscoil Loreto and Creagh college in Gorey and Loreto Secondary school in Wexford town.

Through the programme, the Arts Council is engaging with children and young people enabling their creativity and linking them in with the arts and creative infrastructure in their locality and nationally.

This pilot initiative will develop and celebrate the arts and creativity in our schools. It will establish a range of collaborative opportunities for schools and will develop and strengthen the relationships between schools and the broader cultural and community infrastructure here in Wexford and further afield.