Technological University for South East takes major step forward

Minister of State with responsibility for Defence, Paul Kehoe, has said plans for a new technological investment in the South East have cleared a significant hurdle.

The bill underpinning the Government’s plans to reform the higher education sector was signed by President Michael D Higgins this week.

The enactment of the legislation, known as the Technological Universities Bill, is a major morale boost for Carlow and Waterford Institutes of Technology, which will now submit a formal application in the coming months.

Minister Kehoe said:

“A strong technological university will enhance the south east and provide huge new opportunities in terms of education and jobs for the people of Wexford and surrounding counties.

The Government is working hard to deliver jobs and economic growth across every region of the country to the benefit of communities and families. This will further enhance our plans to ensure the recovery continues to spread beyond Dublin.

He added:

“President Michael D Higgins formally signed the bill this week, which was spearheaded by my colleague in Cabinet Mary Mitchell O’Connor. This is an important step in the process of delivering top quality high third level education for the people of the south east.”

Following enactment of the legislation, the next step in the process is for applications for TU status to be submitted to the Higher Education Authority for assessment by an international panel of experts.  These will be submitted by consortia of existing Institutes of Technology, which have come together to seek TU status.